Cider braised pork

image

Slow cooked tender pork infused with the taste of pear cider. Hello!

So I found this recipe on the Sorted website a couple of weeks ago, and it sounded really delicious, and time consuming, so I bookmarked it for another day. And that day was today.

Now, when it comes to cuts of meat it all a complete jungle to me. I’ve cooked fillet before, the occasional rib, minced meat and pork chops. I’m ashamed to say my knowledge ends there. So my first challenge was finding a cut in the store. Now bare in mind that im only cooking for one, and I’m trying not get leftovers so that I can make different dishes everyday. A piece of pork shoulder felt a little over the top for me, kind of like when I was contemplating making turkey for Thanksgiving, the leftovers would have lasted ’til Christmas…

Anyway, I found something that literally translates into “pieces for stew”. I don’t know what part of the pig it came from, nor do I feel the need to find out, all I need to know is that is going to taste delicious (and it did!). It’s really not a lot of work either, it’s just that you need to be close to the kitchen (not leave the house) for a few hours. So maybe not a weekday dish, unless you have crock pot. I’ve always wanted one, but I don’t think I can fit another single utensil in my kitchen. I need a bigger kitchen…

Thank you for liking, sharing and commenting.

What are you eating today?

Leave a Reply

