Baked mackerel w. herby mash

image

This might be my all time favourite dish, there’s not a lot to beat it…

I’ve never been a big fan of fish,but mackerel has always been a favourite. I love the taste and the fact that it’s so easy to make. All you need to do is remove the bones from the fillet, which is super easy with a pair of tweezers,  and then slide it into the oven at 200°C. If you don’t care about presentation there’s an even simpler way. In the microwave, on high, and when it pops: it’s done!
And to go with it, mashed potatoes, my ultimate comfort food. This time seasoned with some parsley and chives. That’s actually the only seasoning I’ve used tonight,  apart from salt and pepper of course. A little salt on the fish brings out the flavour and it doesn’t have to be more complicated than that. Perfect mid – week dinner. The only drawback for me is that here mackerel comes in packs of two fillets and I never know what to do with the other one. But for tomorrow I have a plan courtesy of Jamie Oliver. Stay tuned…

Thank you for liking, sharing and commenting.

What are you eating today?

Leave a Reply

