Chinese Beef & Cucumber Salad

image

With most of the five spices…

On the weekends I’m working my way through the Sorted videos to find some inspiration for the coming week. Today I reached the Chinese food playlist and I found a whole bunch of recipes I want to try out. First up was this 5-spice beef.

So as it turns out, you can’t buy five spice here, at least not in the supermarket, so I hade to try and make my own. It’s not really that hard, although chopping dried fennel seeds because you don’t have a mortar is very time consuming. Cinnamon, fennel and cloves was what I managed to get hold of, I added some umami powder, some chili and of course salt and pepper.

I was a little hesitant about the chili and cucumber salad, but I was pleasantly surprised. I was afraid it was going to be spicy, but the flavours were balanced out nicely. I will definitely be doing this again.

Leave a Reply

