Potato lasagna

image

This is the express version! Can even be done by zombies…

I was prepared to be tired while cooking today. It was the first real day back after Christmas, I had a 9-hour day and I knew that I wouldn’t be home before 7 pm. So I had prepared! The potatoes were peeled, sliced and laying in a bowl of water in the fridge. The ground beef was already fried up, everything was layed out. I just wasn’t prepared to be THAT tired…

While pouring a can of cherry tomatoes into a hot pan,  and dicing some onion and garlic to go with it, I was muttering at myself for having the bad idea of starting a food blog which requires a daily update. I added the already seared ground beef and voilà; express meat sauce. But here is the real time saver tip. Instead of having to wait half an eternity for the potatoes to get done in the oven when the dish is all layered up, I pre-boil them in the microwave for a couple of minutes while preparing the meat sauce.

So now, all that’s left to do is to layer the almost-cooked potatoes and the meat sauce in an ovenproof dish, and put in the oven at 200°C for a little while until it’s done. Now I may or may not have forgotten to put cheese on mine before putting it in the oven. I may or may not also have fallen asleep on the couch while it was is the oven, I’m not confirming nor denying anything, as I said, I was bit tired….

Leave a Reply

